Posted: 26 February 2019
Central Melbourne © NASA

The first tranche of speakers has been announced for the Australian Institute of Architects’ National Architecture Conference, which will take place in Melbourne from 20 to 22 June. The speakers announced so far are:

Lesley Lokko – University of Johannesburg, South Africa
Emanuel Admassu – AD-WO, USA
Marina Otero Verzier – Het Nieuwe Instituut, Netherlands
Marcos Rosello – aLL Design, UK
Jen Wood – AD-WO, USA
Sarah Lynn Rees – JCB, Australia
Jeremy McLeod – Breathe Architecture, Australia
Olivia Hyde – Acting Government Architect NSW, Australia
Farzin Lotfi-Jam – Farzin Farzin, Australia
Dhakshayini Sooriyakumaran – Decolonized Design Australia, Australia
Laura Harding – Hill Thalis, Australia
Mauro Baracco and Louise Wright – Baracco and Wright
Genevieve Murray – Future Method, Australia
Joel Sherwood-Spring – Future Method, Australia
Libby Porter – RMIT University, Australia
Scott Fry – Loving Earth, Australia
Cecille Weldon – Centre for Liveability Real Estate Australia.

Prof Lesley Lokko is Director at the Graduate School of Architecture at the University of Johannesburg. An architect, academic and author of ten best-selling novels, Lokko is an “on-going contributor to discourses around identity, race, African urbanism and the speculative nature of African architectural space and practice for nearly thirty years.”